Enter your keyword


The Student Partners Program Commonly known as SPP is an administrative framework between the Immigration, Refugee and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) and Association of Canadian Community Colleges (ACCC). Launched in April 2009, the main objective behind this program was to streamline admission and visa process for Canadian Community Colleges which would increase the number of visas issued to Indian students for studying at recognised Canadian Colleges.
Now most of students from India apply under this program for undergraduate and post graduate programs all over Canada.
Currently there are almost 47 institutions under SPP in Canada.

Those applying for a program under SPP must meet the following eligibility criteria:-
• Minimum 50% score in their recently completed degree or diploma or Higher as per the SPP institution specific requirement
• An overall IELTS score of 6.0 with no band less than 5.5 in any section.
• A study gap of no more than five years is allowed, with certain exceptions made for students with a three year gap who have excellent grades with work experience.
• Not more than 8 backlogs in recent studies are accepted under SPP.
• The course applied must be relevant to the student’s previous study background and must add value to the previous education.
• Furnish proof of payment of the tuition fee for one semester or one year (as asked by the SPP College).
• Purchase of a special Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) from Scotia Bank or ICICI Bank of CAD$10,000 to cover living expenses for the first year of stay in Canada.
• A student can apply only once under SPP and Students with previous study visa rejection are not allowed to reapply under SPP again but can reapply under University or Non SPP criteria.
Advantages of applying under SPP
Following are the major advantages of applying under SPP: –
• Streamlined admission and visa guidelines for all SPP participating institutions.
• Less visa documentation.
• Faster visa processing.
Working in Canada under SPP
Work permit is open to all international students who have graduated with a recognized qualification from any of the accredited institutions in Canada be it the SPP colleges or non SPP colleges. The Work permit scheme has its own defined requirements which every student must qualify or satisfy in order to work in Canada.

As per the prevailing work permit regulations in Canada, students whose course period is two years or more are eligible for a Post Study work permit of up to 3 years in Canada. On the other hand, those whose course duration is one year or less than 1 year are eligible for a work permit equal to their duration of study.

SPP Colleges in Canada
• Algonquin College, Ontario
• Bow Valley College, Alberta
• Cambrian College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Camosun College, British Columbia
• Centennial College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• College of New Caledonia, British Columbia
• College of the Rockies, British Columbia
• Columbia College, British Columbia
• Conestoga College, Ontario
• Confederation College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Douglas College, British Columbia
• Durham College, Ontario
• Fanshawe College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• George Brown College, Ontario
• Georgian College of Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Grant MacEwan University, Alberta
• Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Ontario
• Kwantlen Polytechnic University, British Columbia
• Lambton College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Loyalist College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Marine Institute of Memorial University, Newfoundland
• Medicine Hat College, Alberta
• Mohawk College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Niagara College, Ontario
• North Island College, British Columbia
• Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Alberta
• Northern College, Ontario
• Northern Lights, British Columbia
• Okanagan College, British Columbia
• Red River College of Applied Arts, Science & Technology, Manitoba
• Selkirk College, British Columbia
• Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• Sheridan College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Ontario
• St-Clair College of Applied Arts & Technology, Ontario
• St. Lawrence College, Ontario
• University of The Fraser Valley, British Columbia
• Vancouver Island University, British Columbia
• Vancouver Community College, British Columbia